Over the last few months there has a three-way race for TNGOP chairman. The three men running for state party chairman, Bill Giannini, Brent Leatherwood and Scott Golden, were all highly qualified for the position.

In the end, the State Executive Committee elected Scott Golden.

After being elected Scott said, “I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I will not let you down, I promise you that. Brent and Bill are great. They’re going to be around, we’re going to make sure they stay around.”

U.S. Sen. Lamar Alexander congratulated Golden on being elected chairman and said he looks “forward to working with him to keep the Republican Party strong and open to all Tennesseans.”